























January 25, 2022

Honorable Governor J.B. Pritzker Office of the Governor James R. Thompson Center 100 West Randolph, 16-100 Chicago, Illinois 60601

Dear Governor Pritzker,

The undersigned representatives of municipal and county leaders from throughout the state respectfully request your support of the restoration of the municipal share of state income taxes deposited in the Local Government Distributive Fund (LGDF). Legislation making this change has been introduced as HB 4169, sponsored by Representative DeLuca, and SB 3010, sponsored by Senators Murphy and DeWitte, and both bills have gained bipartisan support from legislators who have signed on as co-sponsors. We are committed to seeing this legislation passed and respectfully request your support.

Our members reluctantly dealt with reductions in LGDF and changes to the revenue-sharing formula, previously made in tandem with income tax increases that effectively froze LGDF, as a shared sacrifice during difficult economic times. We believe our members stood with the state when asked. Those times have passed. The state is realizing economic recovery that must be shared. Restoration of LGDF to 8% with automatic appropriations not only moves toward a return to the long-standing status quo of 10%, but it may also help communities address public safety pension funding, compliance with SAFE-T Act requirements, and other mandates while potentially tempering reliance upon the property tax.

We ask for your commitment to support HB 4169 and SB 3010 to increase LGDF to 8 percent with the automatic appropriation of these funds.

Please feel welcome to contact Brad Cole, Executive Director of the Illinois Municipal League, at (217) 525-1220 or bcole@iml.org, or Suzette Quintell, Executive Director of the DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference, at (630) 576-9134 or squintell@dmmc-cog.org, with any questions or if additional information is needed. Thank you for your attention to our request.

Sincerely,

Julie Moore Wolfe

Ron Gunter

President, Illinois Municipal League Mayor, City of Decatur

Julie More Wolfe

President, DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference Mayor, Village of Westmont Dominic Marturano

Donie Martin

President, Lake County Municipal League Mayor, Village of Lindenhurst

John F. Mahoney

Chairman, Metropolitan Mayors Caucus Mayor, Village of Palos Park

nany R. Paring

Nancy Rotering

President, Northwest Municipal Conference Mayor, City of Highland Park

Gerald Bennett

President, Southwest Conference of Mayors Mayor, City of Palos Hills

Steve Streit

President, Will County Governmental League Mayor, City of Lockport

Juph G. M.C.

Joe McCoy

Richard E. Mack

President, McHenry County Council of Governments President, Village of Ringwood

Richard E. Mark

Troy Parlier

President, Metro West Council of Government President, Village of Oswego

Robert Walet

Robert "Bob" Kolosh

President, South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association Mayor, Village of Thornton

Richard Pellegrino

Executive Director, West Central Municipal Conference

Paula McCombie

Chair, Barrington Area Council of Governments President, Village of South Barrington

Executive Director, Illinois State Association of Counties